Tags

>

There’s nothing like creating family memories or reminiscing about old ones on Canada’s Day. It’s a day for parades, strawberry cool whip cakes, bbq’s with friends and of course that all time fireworks.

Growing up in small town Ontario – Canada’s Day was the beginning of summer. Kincardine had the best parades and town fair ever! It was a highlight for ever kid in town. From the clowns that threw candy to the Scottish Pipe Band, the beer tents (not for the kids) and finally the town fair – it was the best day ever!

We now live in Calgary. The land of the Calgary Stampede – the ultimate holiday for every cowboy. Canada Day is downplayed for the most part. No parades, no festivals, no fairs. But the fireworks are amazing and you can go to Heritage Park, Calaway Park or other tourist attractions and be sure to have fun on this day.

This year, I think we’ll just relax. My youngest is ready to ride a two-wheeler, so we’ll practice on that. Bike rides, Dairy Queen sundae’s and tanning are in order I think. I might even make a drink or two – along with my homemade iced coffee. I totally forgot to make a cake this year – well, let’s be honest – not really. The scale is staring to go down and baking is the last thing I was planning on – although …. chocolate chip cookies do seem to be calling my name … homebaked maybe????

Happy Canada’s Day to my fellow Canadians! Enjoy today to the fullest.

