Tags

>

I recently received a copy of “A Slow Burn” by Mary DeMuth.  Mary’s blog was one of the first blogs I found and read every opportunity that I have.  She offers so much insight and help to authors – if you have yet to check her out, you should.

A Slow Burn is the second book in the Defiance Texas Trilogy.  I now need to read the first book.  Not just because I want to know ‘more’ about the characters, but because I NEED to read that book now.  Mary has a way with words that refuse to stop pestering you.  It’s impossible to read a scene and not have to stop and think, really think and what God is trying to say to you.

I loved this book. It is beyond the ‘regular’ Christian fiction book.  There is no happy ending – atleast not the type we’re all used to reading in Christian fiction.  This book is about realism, about being honest and truthful about our walk.  Mary deals with issues that most prefer to pretend are non-existent. Drugs, addiction, abuse, sexual issues and death. The thing about this book though, is that Mary found a way to weave these story lines into God’s love, unconditional, never wavering, always there … LOVE. 

Emory Chance is a woman that we can all understand.  We might not live in her shoes, but there is a small part of us that can nod our heads and continue reading, our hearts reaching out to her.

You need to read this book. 

