Tags

>I’m in the midst of my third edit on my manuscript. I have no doubt there will be more to come. But I read over at Editorrent today a piece of fantastic advice I want to share with you all.  I’m sure you already know, but hey, a little bit of reminding can’t hurt πŸ™‚

Have you ever thought about what your ‘it’ does to a sentence? Really, I never did. Now, I’ve been focusing on my ‘and, then, than,’ ect but to be honest, I haven’t thought about my ‘it’s’. Thank goodness for the ‘find’ feature … although, I doubt I’ll need it … I just need to go through every sentence to find this little gapher.

Ok … so here’s the wonderful advice from Editorrent:
Focus instead on the word it, a weak pronoun that might signal some flab in the sentence. Which is the tighter, cleaner, more linear sentence?

She removed his shirt, pulling it over his head.
or
She pulled his shirt over his head.

WOW!  To me, right now when I’m not even focusing on the ‘it’ … this was huge. I’m all about tightening up my sentences and have been working hard to do so, but never would I have thought to look at the ‘it’ as a sign then sentence ‘should’ be tightened.

Go on over to the blog and see what else is said. If you haven’t followed the blog .. you should.

