Tags

>I subscribe to Michael Hyatt’s emails. I hope those of you who write do as well. Sometimes I tend to glaze over his pieces, yet at times I find myself completely engrossed in what he has to say.

Today was one of those days. Did you get his email? “So You Can’t Seem To Land An Agent … Now What?” If you haven’t read it yet, I really encourage you to do so. There are some fantastic tips in there that I know as a writer wanting to be published, I need to take to heart.

The only one I disagree with is his last point. Why? Because it deals with self-publishing. Now before anyone flags me to smithereens’s let me explain. For me (a personal thought) it’s cheating. My first book was published through a self-publishing house, or a vanity press. At the time I had no clue. I just started on my journey as an author and entered this contest that is still, to this day, a dream come true. The contest was for a publishing contract. One book deal. I was thrilled!  To have my book in print, to hold it in my hands and for others to tell me how much they enjoyed it … a feeling I will never lose. It birthed in me the knowledge, the satisfaction and the ‘umph’ that I can write. I won the contest that was country wide after all.

But vanity press, self publishing, or any other name, is when YOU have to pay for your book to be published. Anyone can do that. Millions have. I don’t want to. For me, I want to know that someone else who actually knows a lot more about writing than I do agrees with me, that yes, I can write. I want that affirmation, that confirmation. Maybe it’s low-esteem issue, or maybe it’s just wanting to do something that other ‘great’s’ have done. Joining their ranks by talent and skill rather than with money.

What do you think?

