Tags

>My hands are off my current WIP as it sits with an editor. I feel like I’ve gone blind to its problems, so I am in the stages of an ‘initial consult’ with an editor to help me get back on track. But I can’t touch it for two weeks. Two weeks! That’s a long time … my hands are already itching and the monkeys in my brain are chattering away at ideas on how to change things, make it better ect.

So I figure I need a new project πŸ™‚  I hate having idle hands (and brain).

I have a journal type book that I keep with me. I’m working on a new novel idea, one that has been scratching at my hands for a while to be written. I take this book with me to work where I can jot down ideas ect. My process for this book is to write the whole book in point form … the ideas, the plot, the characters … just the bare bones of each chapter, and then when its done, sit down at the computer and start working on the ‘meaty’ part. It’s harder than I thought it would be … I want to create my characters, flesh them out, give them a voice … but doing it this way doesn’t allow me the freedom to do so.

But last night I had a inspiration!  (talk about excitement). I’m flat on my back right now due to a stupid move and hurting my back … so I have time to really think about things.  I need your thoughts on this oh wise writing friends πŸ˜‰

I have another blog that I piddle around with. Only 9 followers, but I write down recipes, how my ‘healthy’ eating is going, ect.  It’s called Diva with a Budget. Here’s my idea … transform that blog so that it becomes my characters blog. The book I’m working on right now I’ve titled “Undomesticated Diva” (have to change the title, but for now it works). My story line is about a diva who lived the high life but now has to become a ‘suzy homemaker’ and all it entails. Quite the challenge. Why not use that blog to create her voice, her passion, her story?  It would work so well … what do you think?

I’ve read other blogs where the authors write in their characters’ voice, tell their stories ect … so I’m thinking it ‘might’ work.  I’d love to know your thoughts, opinions, insights … plus I created a poll for easy answering πŸ˜‰

Would you read a character driven Blog?

  • Yes, I would read and follow πŸ™‚
  • No, it doesn’t work.
  • It’s an interesting concept, try it!
  • It takes a lot of work.
  • Bad, bad idea!
  • Only if it was totally character driven!

View Results
Create a Blog Poll

