Tags

>Our need for ego is so essential to our spiritual walk. I know that might sound odd, but it’s true. Bear with me while I explain myself.

Ego is defined as the following:
1. The self, especially as distinct from the world and other selves.
2. An exaggerated sense of self-importance; conceit
3. Appropriate pride in oneself; self-esteem

We take pride in our ego, right? I know I do. If ego means being distinct and bearing self-esteem, then yep, I’ll admit it. I take pride in my ego. But, where does my walk with God coincide with that pride? I thought it could co-exist without issue. But when we place emphasis on our ego, on our distinctiveness, there really isn’t room for God. That was a lesson I learned this week.

When we place our ego first, we’re essentially admitting that we believe we can do it better. We can figure out the stresses of our world better, we can figure out which direction to go, what decisions to make, what’s important and essential to us. When we place our ego first, we’re telling God “thanks, but no thanks” as He stands there with open arms, waiting.

That doesn’t work – does it? Because basically, we can’t do it by ourselves. Sure, we can coast along for a time, going with the flow, believing all is well, but once that tide starts to turn … watch out – you’re on a collision course for failure! You know what I’m talking about, right? I’m sure we can all agree, that looking back there was one specific point when the tide turned and we realized we’re in a boat with no paddles – and heading for Niagara Falls!

I’m in the process of letting go of my ego. For awhile I was trying to make my ego co-exist with my faith. I had the perfect size box with the perfect milk chocolate colored ribbon to go on top, but no matter how much I pushed and squished everything down in that box – the darn lid wouldn’t stay closed.

So how do YOU do it? How do you keep that lid closed on your box? Or have you given up and decided to leave the lid opened and giving God permission to fill the box as he sees fit?

