Tags

>Creative writing means exactly what it says. Being creative with your writing. Easy peasy, right? SO NOT! We all think it ‘could’ be easy … afterall, we all love to read, we all love to tell stories and embellish the info just a tad bit … so writing it should be a breeze 😉

And it is … if you know how to do it.

The basics of writing is simple. Write what you know. For me, I seem to have one underlying theme in all my stories. Someone is a chocoholic. It’s what I know. LOL … (thankfully it’s not the only thing). So writing about chocolate, the passion, the taste ect is easy for me. But the whole story can’t be about chocolate. Even I would get bored reading about a character who only sat and ate chocolate all. day. long.

This is where the creative part comes in. I start with what I know and I expand, I embellish. The trick though is to make it all believable.

So how. Right? (yep, I can hear you asking … LOL) This is where the lying game comes in.

Make 4 statements about yourself (or your character). 3 are true and 1 is a lie. But the false has to be close enough to the truth to be believable. It has to be plausible. That’s where the creative part comes in … your characters have to be believable even if the story is not. The emotional truth is what the people will believe. Look at the Hobbit for example … we all know that ENORMOUS spiders don’t exist (please God let them not exist) but we believed in Bilbo Baggins and his crew 🙂

So here I go … here’s 4 things about me … you decide which is the lie 🙂

1. I have three children, all girls, all close in age – which means that when they hit puberty – life in my house will not be easy.
2. As a teenager I used to lie in the middle of the highway at night. We lived outside of town, but on a main highway – at nights it wasn’t usually too busy. It was tricky though, because we lived just around a bend and if I didn’t listen … well, let’s just say I always made sure I listened … 
3. I was on “Life Today” with James Robinson and Creflo Dollar with my husband when I was 6 months pregnant. It was a fantastic experience being on TV … but man I looked pregnant. They flew us down to Texas, we stayed in a gorgeous hotel and had an amazing time.
4. I love chocolate so much that I once took a part time job at Bernard Callebeaut (the home office is here in Calgary) so that I could work with ‘good’ chocolate and maybe learn how to make it. I didn’t learn how to make it but I sure ate alot of it!

Ok now … your turn. Take what you know of me (or if you’re new have fun …) and figure out which is the lie 😉 

