Tags

>Everyone loves a good conflict. In movies, tv shows and especially in books. If you don’t have conflict, the scenes and characters are basically flat. But … writing a scene with conflict isn’t always the easiest thing to do.

At a young writers conference I learned a little tidbit about conflict. The easiest way to remember it is OMO.
I’m going to use my chocolate analogy to help it hit home πŸ˜‰

O – Objective – this is the character’s goal or mission. Basically – it’s what your character wants.
So, I want chocolate. My objective is to get chocolate. Whether its by going to the store to buy it, convincing the boys at work that it’s in their best interest to buy me chocolate or else I’ll be in a bad mood, or talk my hubby into picking me up some chocolate on his way home (ya, not going to happen). 

M – Motivation – Why your character is after their goal.
Why? Really – that’s self explanatory right? I’m a chocoholic, I love chocolate. I need chocolate. I want chocolate. It puts me in my ‘happy’ place – which is a good place, if I do say so myself πŸ™‚  

O – Obstacle – Who or what gets in the way of your character achieving their goal. 
This isn’t all that difficult to figure out either – usually it’s my husband or my children. They seem to find all my hiding spots and take it from me. 

Always remember to try to raise the stakes in conflict, especially if its emotional. Emotional obstacles help to create a connection with your reader – something you want to achieve especially if you’re wanting them to read past the first page πŸ™‚

