Tags

>

I know many of you have done the November writing Challenge – did you like it? Did you find it helpful? I’ve heard of so many people who have written their first complete draft in a month.

I am part of the ACFW – and they have a challenge for July. The word count is a minimum of 10,000 words for the month. Of those participating – some are going for 50,000 words. Myself, my goal is 30K. That’s 1000 words a day. I might be stretching myself, but if I can do it – then my book will be done 😉  For those who posted their personal goal – if we meet it, we’ll have a logo to place on our blogs ect.

I keep shaking my head at myself. But I can do this. Right?

Is there anyone here who has done this? I need all the positive vibes I can get 😉

But with that in mind – this was posted and I found it so helpful that I thought I’d post it here as well.

Ramona Richards (www.ramonarichards.com) has ten tips for writing a book in a month. Here is tip #10.

#10 Plan and Prepare

 I scuba dive, and every dive instructor I’ve known has this mantra ingrained on the brain: Plan the dive, and dive the plan. It’ll keep you from getting lost, among other things.

So don’t start your writing marathon with a loose idea and a few character sketches in your head. Here are a few “warm-up” ideas to get you launched to a successful “run” of writing.

·      Warn your friends and family – vital for all those missed television programs, text messages, and dinners in a box.

·      Clean your space – don’t start in a spot that’s going to distract you with stuff that should be filed, read, paid, or put in the dishwasher

·      Spend several days “planning your dive” – write 2-page sketches of your major characters and a 5-page outline (including the major plot points and the ending). KNOW WHERE YOU’RE GOING! There are several guidelines out there that can help with this. One of my favorites is Randy Ingermanson’s Snowflake Method.  (Personally I love ywriter … I have both systems and I find ywriter to be more user friendly)

·      Review your favorite 30-Day Method – flip back through books you may have read or notes from a 30-Day marathoning seminar

·      PLAN your weekly goals – what do you want to achieve (other than page and word count) per week.

·      If you write with music, plan your book’s soundtrack. If you’re not sure, a music sample sources such as Pandora can help.

·      Plan your time. You know your life best. Know when and how you’re going to find those 30-minute or 1-hour sprints. Block them out in your mind as dedicated to writing.

 

 

 

 

