Tags

>When I first started to write – six years ago – I thought that being a writer meant I was all alone. It wasn’t until this year that I realized I missed out on a fantastic community when I started. Maybe it’s because I didn’t know where to look, didn’t know the resources available. Maybe it was because I lacked the self-esteem to believe in myself as a writer. Or maybe because I was just naive.

It bothers me when I read blogs or articles about the lonely life of a writer. Yes, we sit behind a desk, table, chair or however else we write – and its us alone with the computer. Yes, we shut ourselves away, block out everything else, so that we can write. But you know what? We’re not alone. We’re not. I’m not – that’s for sure.

There is such a strong community of writers out there. And you are all a part of that! I love it. I really do. I don’t feel alone. I have crit groups that I belong to, people who will not only pat me on the back when I submit a stellar chapter, but will also bring out their red pen when it’s full of crap. There are websites out there (QT blog, Absolute Write, She Writers … and more) that offer fantastic information and peer help. There are countless blogs by authors, writers and agents that we pour over and get help from.

I love this community. I love that there are girls I know I can count on. Girlfriends that I ’email’ daily (sometimes hourly), others that I’ll talk to once a week and those who converse through blog comments. When I need help – you’re all there ๐Ÿ™‚

Take my carnival post for example. OMG. I’ve been dreading this chapter. I finally started it today. Armed with all your comments – I managed to write 500 words into that chapter. It’s a start. It’s all I could wrap my head around today. But without you … I wouldn’t have even started the chapter yet. So thank you!

Today was the start of that writers challenge with ACFW. 31 days. Day 1 is done. My goal is 1000 words a day. It will be hard, but I’ll do it. My kidlets are away at my parents for the summer – so really, I have no excuses. I wrote 1234 words today. Whew. Done. Over. Pass the chocolate thankyouverymuch.

So thank you. THANK YOU. THANK YOU! For being there, for believing in me, for believing in others like me … for being friends I can count on to hold me up when I need it the most. I hope to do the same for you.

Smooches ๐Ÿ˜‰  Oh – and who wants chocolate?  I’m in a sharing mood today ๐Ÿ™‚

