Tags

>

The inspiration for Tuesday Tells it Slant came during my morning commute. I was driving (too fast) and singing along to John Mayer’s Who Says (at the top of my lungs. It’s such a great sing-a-long song) and I was struck by a few lyrics—Who says I can’t be free/ from all of the things that I used to be?/ Rewrite my history/ Who says I can’t be free. I was interested in the concept of rewriting someone’s history, and thought if I were to rewrite my own history I would do it with journal entries. I’ve always journaled, and I’ve had a few days when I thought it would be much easier to lie about the day instead of getting the painful truth out. So I had a few words. A girl. A diary. A past. But I had no idea what to do with them. One day, I was reminded of an Emily Dickinson poem. I spent a semester studying Dickinson’s life and poetry. Isn’t it funny how some things just stick with you? The Dickinson poem begins: Tell all the Truth but tell it slant/ Success in Circuit lies. The concept of slowly revealing the truth was appealing to me and I thought it would be a great fit for the whole rewriting history bit. I thought that Tuesday would be a cool name, used the Dickinson poem’s first line for inspiration and then I had a title. The actual inspiration to write the story always comes to me when I’m too busy to do it, and it makes my life all the more interesting. I love watching the concepts mesh together with words and chapters. I never know exactly where I’m going with a story when I start and I’m always surprised at the end.
For more on Holly Christine and her books, visit: www.hollychristineonline.com or find her on Facebook and Twitter.
