Tags

>Have you heard of Tosca Lee?

Me neither until about 6 months ago. I heard through the grapevine that she was co-writing with Ted Dekker. So obviously I googled her. First off – can we say gorgeous. Second – can we say warped mind that exceeds being labeled as talented? Seriously! I would love to be able to pick her brain for even just 2 minutes.

So … when I stalked emailed her asking if I could pick her brains for my blog, what do I get instead? Demon: A Memoir.

I did not put this book down. (Well, okay, I did. To eat. To sleep. but that’s about it). It wasn’t what I expected. First off, let me just say this … when you start the book, for some odd reason, I thought I was reading about a woman. WRONG. It befuddled me that she would have a main character as a man. I had to read that first page three times.

But then as you read the story, your mind starts to bend in ways you didn’t think manageable. I know Tosca used biblical references, but how she took a few scriptures and created a theory, a novel, a STORY is …. creative. Simple as that.

Basically, it’s a story about a demon. But the story becomes about you. Seriously. I’m not fooling around here. And no, it’s not a thriller or anything even remotely scary, for which I love. And yes, I will be lending this book out – especially to my mom since I know she’ll love it (and no Mom, you can not keep the book, so don’t even ask).

Tosca takes you on a journey. From before time began when demons were angels. Beautiful angels. She pulls you along until you can see the description of heaven and earth – Lucifer’s playground. You ‘get it’ when she describes the fall of Lucifer. Something clicks in your head. And then your heart begins to ache when you experience the ultimate sadness, the agony and the pain of the fallen angels when they realize that there is no second chance for them.

I’m not going to tell you the whole story, but I will tell you this. When you put the book down, you will have a different understanding regarding the fallen angels. The demons. And a greater understanding of the love God has for us.

I’d offer to give this one away, but seriously – if I’m not willing to let my mom keep it, do you think you stand a chance 😉

