Tags

>The waiting game. I’m sure most of you know what I’m talking about. The long stretch of silence, of nothingness when you hit SEND on that email for a partial or a full. The time when you continue to check your email for a response only to realize that d’uh – it’s only been like … a day. AUGH.

So what do you do?

When my second novel was out, I was hit with a brilliant idea for a new novel. I knew that by the time I heard back regarding my full that I’d be done with my new idea. I gave myself six months. Sure enough, written, reviewed, critiqued and ready to go and then I got that email … ‘thank  you for the privilege (yes, she said that) blah blah blah.’ It really was a lovely letter, she encouraged me to continue writing, she loved the voice in the novel and my writing skills but … yes, the dreaded but.

BUT … I was okay with that … because I knew THIS novel was stronger. I knew THIS novel was better. So far it’s proven to be true. My critique group loved it (as long as they weren’t lying). My beta readers enjoyed it (I won’t dare say they loved it) and I’ve had full and partial requests. Great.

But now what …

Well, I’m baking. Tons of baking. Butter tarts, chocolate chip muffins, coconut chocolate chip cake, cheesecake, vanilla bean scones, sugar cookies … the list goes on and on and on and on.

What I SHOULD be doing is writing. I’ve had a few blissful days at home and I SHOULD have used that time to work on 2 new story ideas. But I haven’t. Instead, I’ve baked and browsed blogs and read books … everything but write.

Maybe it’s a good thing. Maybe the words I would have written would have been so bad I’d be deleting them anyways … maybe the concept hasn’t baked enough in my head … who knows.

What I do know is this … I have ample baking now for coffee dates. Anyone want to join me?

