Tags

>Nine years can seem like forever. Or it can seem like yesterday.

Most American’s and Canadian’s remember where they were on this day. I know I do. I was in my feeding my young children – then only 2 and 1 yrs old. I had the volume on low so I almost missed what was happening. Until I heard the words “Oh My God”. I remember sitting in my tiny Canadian city in shell shock.

I thought I knew. I thought I understood what had happened that day. Most any of us would say this. But after reading this post by Meg Cabot, I now know that I never knew. I NEVER KNEW.

I never knew what it was like to BE there. I never knew what it was like to think my loved one was dead. I never knew what it felt like to feel guilty for surviving when others died.

I sit here in tears. Because I realize that in nine years, while I felt pity, anger and sadness in my heart towards the terrorist attack that occurred to our neighbor of the South, I knew nothing. And I’m sorry. I’m sorry that I didn’t understand. That I didn’t care enough to try to understand.

It angers me that others would try foolish actions to celebrate the sadness of this day. Burning books that one feels evil while another feels blessed is not a way to celebrate this day. The ONLY way to celebrate a day that has such tragic meaning for millions is to remember. Not what you were wearing or where you were on this day – but to remember those who were there. Those who lost their lives. Those who sacrificed so that others might live. That and only that is how to glorify God on a day like today.

I never knew. And I don’t foolishly claim that I even know now. But I am thankful that people like Meg Cabot and others would share what they know for those like me who don’t.

