Tags

>There’s something about today that makes me smile.

Oh, I know! It’s the aroma of a turkey in the oven. I hope it cooks properly this year – I have a tendency of screwing up our turkey meal when I cook it.

But I digress.

There’s something about today that makes me smile. Apart from the pumpkin pie, the turkey and gravy and mashed potatoes.

It’s the realizing that today is more about just indulging on the sweet finds on my table. It’s about reflection. On this life I’ve been given.

Do you know what it’s like to be happy? Not just the smile/laugh type of happy, but DEEP in your bones type of happy?

It’s how I feel. Today. Yesterday. And I know I will tomorrow too. It goes beyond my writing. Beyond my job and my family. There is a grounding to it. A reason for it. It’s not often that I allow myself to actually dwell in this spot. Perhaps because I don’t think I deserve it. But I do. I really really do. And so do you!

My grounding is my faith. Something I have a habit of neglecting – not in the sense that I forget about it and turn  my back on it – but in the sense that I forget how much it really is a part of who I am.

What is your grounding? What’s that deep root that keeps/makes you happy?

Oh – and yes – Happy Thanksgiving to my Canadian friends 🙂

