Tags

>I’m deep into loglines right now, thanks to Miss Snark’s First Victim fantastic blog. Don’t know what I’m talking about? Check it out here.  I submitted my logline yesterday (#23) and received a lot of great comments and helpful ideas!  I’ll share my logline further down, don’t worry.

But … it gave me a great idea. Loglines are not just marketing tools you use to garner an agents perspective. It helps you, as a writer, understand what your story is about. I’m in the process of working on a new novel, but I’m going to create a logline first. Almost like working on your query first – except this is only 2 sentences instead of 3 paragraphs (don’t let the size fool you though, it’s just as hard).

So what are loglines?  Remember when you mom or your husband asked you ‘so what’s your story about?’ and you had to think about what words to use without boring them to tears? (Yeah, I know you know what I’m talking about). Basically your logline is your hook – expanded from one sentence to two. You need to grab an agent’s attention with your logline, tell them not just about your story, but tell them why they should care about your story.

According to Holly Bodger, this is what makes a logline …

When [MAIN CHARACTER] [INCITING INCIDENT], he [CONFLICT]. And if he doesn’t [GOAL] he will [CONSEQUENCES].
Author Michelle McLean breaks it down as well:
  • Characters – Who is the main character? What does that main character want? What is his/her main goal?
  • Conflict – Who is the villain of the story? Or what is the main obstacle to the main character obtaining their goal?
  • Distinction – What makes your book different then all the rest? What is the unique element of your story that makes it stand out? Is your book a romance between a young man and woman? What makes them different?
  • Setting – for a novel, adding a little about the setting, time period, and possibly genre (if it’s not obvious) is a good idea. For example, the hook line for my book, which is an historical romantic suspense, could begin “A young woman in Victorian England…”.
  • Action – Your hook line needs to have action, excitement. For example, which hook line catches your interest more?
 Now, if you want some fun and need ideas on what a logline is … go here (you’ll laugh at this generator).
I have an idea. If you are wanting to participate in Miss Snarks event but you don’t make the cut when she has her entries to post your logline (or if you do make the cut but want to make sure you put your best logline out there) … who would be interested in doing a Logline Blogfest? When I did the first 250 words blogfest, the writing community was fantastic (meaning YOU) in helping me simplify my opening and make it better. Let’s do that with the loglines too!  

Are you in?  Let me know in the comments and then I’ll get it set up 😉
 
