Tags

,

>

If you are a writer that’s been around the block a few times, then when I say the word BRANDING, you already know what I’m talking about.

But, what if you are new to the whole concept of writing as a passion, not just a hobby and you’ve just figured out how freakishly fantastic the world of blogging writers really is. What if you have NEVER heard of the term BRANDING? What then?



Right? (Oh please God, tell me you do. If not, we need to talk. Seriously.)
  
Don’t freak out. Really. Don’t. Freak. Out.  Take a deep breath. Yep, there’s a heck of a lot to learn as a newbie writer (don’t be offended by that term either), but it’s all worth it in the end. Trust me.
I was introduced to Kristen Lamb today. UM, HELLLOOOOO … this girl is worth sharing your chocolates with. I promise. If you want to grow, not only as a writer, but as an author (yes, there is a difference), then you want to follow this woman. Find her on twitter, facebook, sign up for her posts to come to your email and FOLLOW HER BLOG.  If you’re serious about branding then you should also consider buying her book. WE ARE NOT ALONE: The Writer’s Guide to Social Media.

Seriously. ‘nough said. 
Okay, so … are you branding? Do you even know what that is? 

Branding is basically all about getting your name out there. Getting known. Get on Twitter, Facebook, have a blog, be a part of goodreads (and not just sign up), do reviews for others, get your name known. 

I’ve started. My blog title, while is Chocolate Reality – did you notice my url? It’s under my name. My twitter handle – @SteenaHolmes (lets become friends if we aren’t already). I do writer reviews for SparksBooks – for a reason – because it gets my name known. When I review a book for them, not only do I get to meet wonderful authors, but I get to know the girls there and they post links back to my blog on twitter too. It’s a win-win situation. 

Notice what I’m doing? I’m branding. In a basic and general way. Getting my name out there. Because when I have a book deal – I want people to be able to look up my name and FIND ME. Not ‘chocolate diva’ or that ‘chocolate girl on twitter’ but ME … Steena Holmes. Cutsie names are all fine and dandy on twitter, but if you are serious about this … when your book is out and you want people to buy it … when they are at Amazon or their local book store – who are they going to remember – that ‘chocolate chick’ or my real name – Steena Holmes? 
(shrug) I don’t know about you, but I want them to find my real name. Wouldn’t you? 
Because I know we have some AWESOME authors, writers, bloggers here … tell me, help me … how are you branding?
