Tags

>



 I’ve had a wonderful weekend of starting and finishing two novels. Yep, you heard me. Two.

The first one I devoured. Literally. I went to bed late, woke up early and stayed in bed until the last possible minute before I had to take my daughter to Aikidu to read. I had a long luxurious bath complete with a bath bomb from Lush and finished the novel. And loved it. The words drew me in.

The second novel I started this morning. And hated it. Okay, lie – I didn’t hate, but I kept wincing at the writing. But I have to really really hate a story to put it down without finishing and the premise was unique. So I read. And analyzed (cause that’s what we writers do, right?)

It took me a while, but I figured out why I had such strong reactions to each book. The POV. The first novel had a Deep POV (Point of View) whereas the second novel had the regular third person POV. Do you know what the difference is?

One told while the other showed. Can you guess which one did the showing? The Deep POV. Dialogue tags weren’t used, ordinary verbs such as see said, notice, think, thought and felt weren’t used.

Still don’t get it? Here’s a comparison taken from Daily Writing Tips website:

Judy ran down the alley. She thought she could hear footsteps behind her. She realized now that she should have stayed on the main street. Her tight skirt and high heels were slowing her down.
Judy picked up her pace. Footsteps sounded in her ears. Imagination? Maybe, but what if that spooky-looking man at the corner had followed her into the alley? Damn this tight skirt. She could hardly move her knees, let alone run. And these heels! What had possessed her to buy anything this high? Momma warned her about vanity.

According to Daily Writing Tips – writing in limited Third Person usually involves the expenditure of more words, but, if done effectively, the extra words add to the reader’s enjoyment by pulling him more deeply into the events narrated.

Here’s what I like about Deep POV. The writer becomes the character. They aren’t writing it as if they were the observer. They write is as if they are experiencing it. Which is fantastic for the reader because then we are there in the scene, experiencing it, feeling the passion of that first kiss, the terror as the vampire approaches.

I’ve realized that I love stories written in Deep POV. I’ve also realized how hard it is as a writer to perfect this for our reader. What about you? Do you notice the Deep POV when you are reading a novel? Does it matter to you? Do you find it a challenge to write it or does it come easy for you?

