Tags

, , , ,

You can’t change what happens to you today. But you can change how you deal with it.

I used to pray for second chances. A second chance to change my teen years, to not date certain boys, to redo decisions I made. I used to dream about what it would be like to live a life different than what I had today.  To not meet the monster who destroyed my innocence. To not throw away a life I could have lived. To not give up on a dream I kept close to my heart.

But living in a dream world where life doesn’t hurt accomplishes only one thing.

Failure.

I refuse to not only be a failure, but to live a life of a failure. What’s the point? Living a life full of passion means embracing everything that has happened in the past, present and future.

Besides, that’s how we learn, right?

And when you really look back. I mean really look back – would you want it to be any different? Sure, there are things that happen that you wish you could redo or even hit the delete button – but think of the person you are today. Think about the strength you have welled up deep inside that you wouldn’t have had if your life had been ‘easy’. Think about what makes you happy right now? Nine times out of ten it’s the very things you had to struggle to keep in your life. No matter your passion – whether it be writing, singing, baking or knitting a blanket – I’d be very surprised if you didn’t have to struggle for this passion to be such a priority to you.

Would you be willing to give that up?

Well – maybe for the chance to eat chocolate without gaining weight – but even then … no.

I love my life the way it is. I’m spoiled beyond belief by the friends and family I have. I’d never give them up. Not even for chocolate. And that’s saying a lot!

Remember, in the end, all things succumb to chocolate!
Steena

If you’re a lover of romance, I hope you’ll pick up on of my books where I write under the name of Anya Winter. Be sure to fall in love with The MasterStampede Fever (Stampede Sizzlers) and The Blindfold!

