Tags

, , , , , , ,

Once upon a time writers would query agents for traditional publishing.
Now it looks like we can query agents for help in self publishing.

Kindof.

The market is changing and we’re not the only ones to notice this. I’m not an expert in anything related to publishing, and I know nothing about agents other than I’d love to have one. But, I am starting to understand what it means to be a self-published author.

And I know that going through an agent to help me do the things I can do myself while giving them 50% of my earnings is not what it means to be self-published.

Courtney Milan and Bob Mayer have excellent blog posts on this topic. I STRONGLY urge you to read it. If you have ever thought about self-publishing – please read it.

But here’s my two cents. You NEED an amazing cover and you NEED editing on your novel. Pay for this. There are thousands of artists and editors out there who will help you. You will need to know formatting when uploading your stories onto places like Smashwords and Amazon. But if you take the time, you can do this yourself. You can also pay someone a flat fee for this if it’s too stressful for you.

But pay a flat fee. Not a percentage.

The publishing world is changing and that means everyone in that world needs to evolve. I’m all for that. This is not a post against agents or against finding an agent or even against those authors who have an agent and self-publish. I’m worried that writers will flock to those agents who are offering self-publishing services in the hopes of signing with them for a more tradional publishing method.

What do you think? Am I wrong?

