Tags

, , , , ,

Life is 10% what happens to you and 90% how you respond.

That is so true and something I’m learning more and more each day.

Every day it seems like we are lambasted with reasons why we should be upset, frustrated or even offended. Plans change, appointments cancel, rejections pop up in your email, nasty reviews are posted about your writing. Friends disappoint, children annoy and your secret stash of chocolate doesn’t seem to be such a secret anymore. It’s enough to make me gorge on poutine and chocolate with a little bit of rootbeer thrown into the mix.

But if I allowed it to affect me like that every single day, not only would I weigh about 100 pounds more than I do now, but I’d also be a nasty, grumpy and down right irritating person.

It’s true, no matter what you say or do – things are just going to happen. Life happens and it doesn’t always come out smelling like a moist chocolate cake. Sometimes it has that sour milk smell and that is just gross.

You’ve heard the term “choose your fights”. It’s so true. Instead of getting upset because my youngest turned her nose up at the cereal I bought and ended up going to school hungry (and yes, I’m waiting for that note or phone call from the teacher), or the co-worker from hell seems to have actually visited the internal inferno and decided to share her misery with me – I don’t have to let those situations rule me.

What matters is how I respond. Someone once said that by responding to stress means giving up power. I have so little power in my life (it seems) that the realization that I’m willingly giving it away over something so insignificant kind of ticked me off.

Kind of? Nah – really ticked me.

That’s so not happening any more.

I don’t know about you, but I plan on grabbing hold of what little power (or control) I have and not letting go for anything less that what I deserve. And even then it had better be smothered in chocolate, whip cream and strawberries.

A friend recently told me I’m a control freak. I think she deserves a big hug for saying that.

So bring it on. It can’t get any worse than it already is but you can betcha I won’t go down without a fight, a huge smile and even a hug. No one is taking away my power.

What about you? Wanna share some chocolate with me while we take this new journey of retaining our power/control over situations?

Remember, in the end, all things succumb to chocolate!
Steena

If you’re a lover of romance, check out my re-released inspy romance Chocolate Reality (originally published under title Once Upon A Dream by Word Alive)!
I hope you’ll pick up on of my books where I write under the name of Anya Winter. Be sure to fall in love with The MasterStampede Fever (Stampede Sizzlers) and The Blindfold!

